Coalition Against the Mining Pandemic Report and Website Launch

Coalition Against the Mining Pandemic Report and Website Launch

When: Friday, June 10, 2022, at:  8:00 (Mexico City) | 9:00 (Bolivia/Ottawa) | 13:00 (Abidjan) | 14:00 (London/Kinshasa) | 15:00 (Johannesburg/Madrid) | 16:00 (Kampala/Istanbul) | 18:30 (India) | 20:00 (Jakarta) | 21:00 (Philippines)

To register: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Rp2toUISTkCXixr2T-ednA

Over two years since the WHO first declared COVID-19 to be a global pandemic, communities around the world continue to face the intersecting and compounding effects of extractivism and the virus.

June 10th, 2022, 13:00-14:30 GMT, join us in launching reports which document these impacts and highlight how mining-affected communities continue to model a truly just recovery–from both the mining and COVID-19 pandemics.

Research coordinators from the Coalition’s Africa, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America, and North America research committees will engage in a round table about the research process, some of the main dynamics they’ve worked to document, and some of the solidarity actions being asked for by frontline communities. Join the ongoing conversation.

Our collaborative research shows how during the pandemic:

  • The economic and political power asymmetries between mining companies, governments, and mining-affected communities significantly deepened.
  • States and governments used the opportunity to frame mining as “essential” and necessary for post pandemic recovery and thus justify highly destructive practices.
  • Frontline communities faced serious new threats and to their safety and increased risks of violence, both from the virus and selectively implemented pandemic restrictions, militarization, and criminalisation.
  • Communities around the world continue to mobilize in the defence of their lives and territories, developing new ways of working together to keep one another and the planet safe from harm.

 

MiningPandemic

Leave a reply

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.